How to Keep Your Car Exhaust in Good Shape

Horse racing is an extremely popular sport in Australia. This is because horse races happen in all states and territories, and anyone can get involved in the industry. Here are some fantastic facts on horse racing in Australia:

  • With the exception of a few provincial all-weather tracks, all horses race on the grass in Australia.
  • The Melbourne Cup is among the richest races and best-known races in the world. It has a prize pool of $4 million. And Melbourne residents get a day off work for the race.
  • There are more than 450+ racecourses and 22,000+ races in Australia every year.

Group Races in Australia

The Australian Racing Board categorises races into different levels, with Group 1 races the highest rating. Group 1 races in Australia are the most elite races, with the Australian Oaks being one of the most popular races. Closely behind Group 1 races are the Group 2 races. Group 2 races have prize pools that range from a minimum of $150,000 to $500,000.

The prize money increases according to the popularity of the race and sponsorship. Many Group 2s act as the lead-up races for the Group 1s like the Australian Derby. Bettors can use Group 2 lead-ups as a great guide for the big Group 1 races.

Below are some of the most popular Group 2 races that are run annually:

  • Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes, with a prize pool of $500,000. It takes place at Moonee Valley in September every year.
  • Sandown Classic with a prize pool of $400,000. It takes place at Sandown in November every year.
  • Edward Manifold Stakes with a prize pool of $300,000. It takes place at Flemington in October every year.

Here is a list of some of the most popular Group 2 races that are run in Australia each year.

Adelaide Cup Ajax Stakes Alister Clark Stakes
Angus Armanasco Stakes Apollo Stakes Arrowfield Sprint
ATC Chairman’s Handicap Australia Stakes Autumn Classic
Autumn Stakes Blamey Stakes Blazer Stakes
Blue Diamond Prelude Bobbie Lewis Quality BRC Sires Produce Stakes
Breeders Classic Brisbane Cup Caulfield Sprint
Challenge Stakes Champagne Classic Chelmsford Stakes
Crystal Mile Danehill Stakes Dato Tan Chin Nam Stakes
DC Mckay Stakes Doomben Roses Eagle Farm Cup
Eagle Farm Cup (PJ O’Shea Stakes) Edward Manifold Stakes Emancipation Stakes
Euclase Stakes Expressway Stakes Furious Stakes
Gilgai Stakes Golden Pendant Herbert Power Stakes
Hill Stakes Hobartville Stakes Hollindale Stakes
Karrakatta Plate Kewney Stakes Lee Steere Stakes
Let’s Elope Stakes Light Fingers Stakes Magic Night Stakes
Matriarch Stakes McEwen Stakes Millie Fox Stakes
Missile Stakes Moonee Valley Cup Moonee Valley Fillies Classic (Moonee Valley Oaks)
Moonee Valley Vase Moreton Cup Pago Pago Stakes
PB Lawrence Stakes


Perth Cup Peter Young Stakes (St George Stakes)
Phar Lap Stakes Premiere Stakes Queen Of The South Stakes
Queensland Guineas Riesling Stakes Roman Consul Stakes
Rubiton Stakes Run To The Rose Salinger Stakes
Sandown Guineas Sapphire Stakes Shannon Stakes
Schillaci Stakes Silver Shadow Stakes Silver Slipper Stakes
Skyline Stakes Stan Fox Stakes Stutt Stakes
Sunline Stakes Sweet Embrace Stakes Tea Rose Stakes
Ted Van Heemst Stakes The Shorts Theo Marks Stakes
Thousand Guineas Prelude Todman Stakes Tramway Stakes
Tristarc Stakes Tulloch Stakes Victory Stakes (Sir Byrne Hart Stakes)
Villiers Stakes VRC Sires Produce Stakes WA Guineas
Wakeful Stakes WATC Derby WH Stocks Stakes
Yallambee Stakes Zipping Classic  


Leave a Reply