What is the Australian education system?

The quality of education in Australia is internationally recognized. All schools’ education is designed according to individual needs, abilities and interests, so that every student can develop his or her potential in all aspects.

The Australian education system roughly inherits the British education system, with 6 years of primary school (grades 1-6); 6 years of secondary school (grades 7-12); and 3 years of university. However, depending on the department, the length of study is also different, for example: 3 years in liberal arts, business, and science, 4 years in engineering, 4 or 5 years in law, and 6 years in medicine. Generally, those who want to enter a college or higher education institution must complete 12 years of education. If Australian students want to continue their studies after graduating from the 12th grade, they have two options: first, entering the Vocational Education and Training focusing on practical courses; second, taking university courses with an academic and theoretical nature. The eligibility for application is based on the grade 12 graduation examination results.

1. Primary education

Primary education in Australia is grade 1-6, divided into two categories: public primary schools and private primary schools. Australian primary schools aim at general education to improve pupils’ English and reading comprehension skills, mathematics and calculation skills, as well as social cognition, and teach students health knowledge and cultivate children’s creativity. At the same time, Australia has actively carried out various sports and social activities at the primary level, so that children have a healthy body and learn to communicate with their peers and elders. You can also read more.

2. Junior high school education

The length of study in junior high schools in different states varies slightly due to the different length of primary education. New South Wales, Victoria, Capital Territory and Tasmania are in the 7th to 10th grade. Junior high schools in Western Australia, South Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory are in grades 8-10. The main subjects studied are English, mathematics, science, human society and environment, foreign languages, science and technology and applied courses, art and personal development, health education and physical education. After graduating from junior high school, some Australian students look for jobs directly, or study TAFE courses to receive job skills training. However, the vast majority of junior high school graduates will enter high school in grades 11-12.

3. Senior high school education

Australia’s senior high school education has two years, namely: 11th and 12th grade. In addition to continuing to study English and mathematics, high school students must also take other courses, such as foreign languages (German, French, Greek, Italian, Japanese, etc.), business, law, economics, industrial technology, computer and electronic technology. After finishing the 12th grade, students’ graduation scores are determined by the usual school scores and unified examination scores. High school graduation scores are also a necessary condition for entering university. The school year of each school is somewhat different, but it is usually divided into four semesters. Except for Grade 12, students can generally transfer to classes at the beginning of any semester.

Before deciding to study in Australia, it is necessary to understand the various expenses in Australia. Self-financed international students must pay all tuition fees to the school, as well as medical insurance and living expenses.

Tuition fees vary greatly depending on the course and school. Public schools have lower tuition fees than private schools. In general public schools, the annual tuition fee for grades 7-10 is about 7000 Australian dollars, and the annual tuition for grades 11-12 is about 8000 Australian dollars. Every year between A$8,000 and A$10,000 are needed to pay for daily living expenses, such as food and lodging, transportation and clothing.

4. University education

Australia’s higher education system consists of technical colleges (TAFE) and universities, providing technical, undergraduate, and postgraduate courses. Australian universities and colleges must be registered under government agencies before they can issue admission notices to international students, which also guarantees the quality of the courses and the authority of the certificates.

This is a brief introduction to the Australian education system. This education system provides students with a variety of choices and explores the different possibilities of students, so that children can play their strengths in different fields and contribute their own strengths when they grow up.

Leave a Reply